Henry’s Avalanche Talk launches ORTOVOX Off-Piste Awareness Tour 2019

The Off Piste Awareness Course
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Henry’s Avalanche Talk (HAT) in association with ORTOVOX and Ellis Brigham has launched dates for its 2019 Off-Piste Awareness Tour that includes over 30 live events in venues across the UK.

The talks focus on how to manage risk when skiing or snowboarding off-piste and are aimed at all levels of riders from off-piste first timers to experienced veterans looking to reinforce their knowledge.

Tickets cost £15 per person for the talks and £60 per person for the transceiver training sessions. There’s an ‘early bird’ discount of 20% available up until September 30, using the code hatearlybird

There’s three different events that participants can attend:The Essentials Talk – a must see talk, full of ‘essential’ information for all off-piste skiers who want to have fun and be safe, no matter how experienced you are.The In-Depth Talk – for anyone who has attended the Essentials Talk, this is an in-depth look at one subject: Henry will explore how and why avalanches are triggered.Transceiver Training – hands on training and practice with avalanche transceivers. This is a practical session in the UK where you learn how to use a transceiver, shovel and probe to locate a victim in 5 minutes and dig them out in 15 minutes.The main theme for this year’s talks, above and beyond learning and refreshing ‘the essentials’, is ‘application’, as it becomes increasingly clear that the vast majority of accidents are caused by individuals not applying decision making and risk reduction measures; and this is because of human factors and flaws that are magnified within a mountain environment. The solution is a risk reduction framework that Henry and his team will be introducing and building on across all events.

Founder of HAT, Henry Schniewind, said: “We’re going to discuss the latest lessons from recent research on the Human Factor and how it applies to decision making and risk taking in the backcountry and off-piste skiing. Why is it that when there are clear clues indicating danger, people who should know better and have the basic training needed in order to recognise these clues, still get caught out in avalanches”?

All the UK talks take place in Ellis Brigham stores and the Transceiver Training sessions are held in outdoor spaces suited to hiding and locating objects in the ground.

Full schedule:

The Essentials Talk – Ellis Brigham Stores, cost £15 per person Covent Garden – Wednesday 23 October 2019Manchester – Wednesday 30 October 2019London St Pauls – Tuesday 12 November 2019Castleford – Tuesday 19 November 2019Braehead – Wednesday 20 November 2019Cambridge – Wednesday 27 November 2019Grenoble – Wednesday 04 December 2019Val d’Isère – Wednesday 18 December 2019Covent Garden – Tuesday 07 January 2020Val d’Isère – Wednesday 22 January 2020Book: henrysavalanchetalk.com/uk-events/essential-talks
 
In-Depth Talk – Ellis Brigham Stores, cost £15 per person 
 Covent Garden – Thursday 24 October 2019Manchester – Thursday 31 October 2019St Pauls – Wednesday 13 November 2019Castleford – Wednesday 20 November 2019Braehead – Thursday 21 November 2019Cambridge – Thursday 28 November 2019Grenoble – Thursday 05 December 2019Val d’Isère – Thursday 19 December 2019Covent Garden – Wednesday 08 January 2020Val d’Isère – Thursday 23 January 2020Book: henrysavalanchetalk.com/uk-events/in-depth-talks
                               
Transceiver Training – outdoor venues, cost £60 per person (3 hour session)
 Sandbanks – Sunday 20 October 2019Wimbledon – Sunday 27 October 2019Wimbledon – Friday 01 November 2019Wimbledon – Sunday 03 November 2019Sandbanks – Sunday 10 November 2019Wimbledon – Sunday 17 November 2019Ilkley – Saturday 23 November 2019Manchester – Sunday 24 November 2019Wimbledon – Monday 30 December 2019Sandbanks – Sunday 05 January 2020Wimbledon – Sunday 16 February 2020Book: henrysavalanchetalk.com/uk-events/transceivertraining
 
The ORTOVOX Avalanche Awareness Tour 2019 > henrysavalanchetalk.com/uk-events/events-in-the-uk
 
About HAT

Safety is Freedom

Henry’s Avalanche Talk (HAT) provides training and essential information for skiers who want to go off-piste, but are held back by fear of the unknown and leaving things to fate. HAT is known for helping ordinary skiers have an extraordinary experience off-piste and ski touring.

Henry’s Avalanche Talk has been helping to educate off-piste skiers and snowboarders for over 30 years and has grown into a team of off-piste professionals, often referred to as HAT. Talks and courses have been delivered to tens of thousands of people, presented at international snow science conferences and published many papers and articles, often in the British press.

Training is available in the UK, Val d’Isère and online.

Henry Schniewind and other members of the HAT team are available for comment

henrysavalanchetalk.com

Latest Articles to explore

A to Z of Ski Terms

Whether you are new to wintersports our just find the lingo confusing here is the Snowresort.ski A-Z glossary of ski terms! A